ACA Announces 2022 Award Winners


At last week’s convention, ACA recognized members who have devoted their time and talent to advancing the accounts receivable management industry.


ACA International recognized members who have made significant contributions to the association and the accounts receivable management (ARM) industry at last week’s Convention & Expo in Orlando.

This year’s Member of the Year Award was given to industry leader Jack W. Brown III Esq., president of Gulf Coast Collection Bureau Inc. in Sarasota, Florida, in recognition of his dedication, commitment and tireless work related to the association’s success.

As a longtime and highly active ACA member, Brown has gone above and beyond in volunteering for leadership roles. He has chaired multiple committees and earned ACA’s Fellow and Scholar designations. He was elected to ACA’s Board of Directors in 2015 and served as 2018/19 ACA president. Currently, he leads the Governance Task Force and chairs the Board Advocacy Committee.

Brown continuously volunteers his time to the Florida Collectors Association  and has served in several board roles, including president. He received ACA’s Unit Leader of the Year Award in 2013 for his lobbying efforts to remove or modify important sections of the Florida state statute to be less onerous for the collection industry.

“Jack is tireless, but more importantly, one of the most brilliant, thoughtful and strategic people I know,” said ACA CEO Scott Purcell. “The weight of the issues our industry faces is not insignificant, and Jack’s poise and strategic insights are incredibly valuable to the ACA membership.”

Other valued ACA award winners include:

ACA International All In® Awards: Makyla Moody, attorney at law with Greenberg Sada & Moody in Englewood, Colorado (individual winner), Bonneville Billing & Collections in Idaho Falls, Idaho (company winner) and the New England Collectors Association (unit winner).

ACA International Education Foundation Fellow Award: Malone Frost Martin PLLC in Dallas, Texas.

Charles F. Lindemann Certified Instructor of the Year Award: Leslie Bender, IFCCE, CCCA, CCCO, senior counsel at Clark Hill PLC in Washington, D.C.

Fred Kirschner Instructor Achievement Award: Leslie Bender (175 seminars).

Harry Strausser Jr. ACPAC Ambassador Award: Tim Haag, president of State Collection Service Inc. in Madison, Wisconsin.

James K. Erickson Continuous Service Award: Tina Hanson, IFCCE, executive vice president of State Collection Service Inc. in Madison, Wisconsin.

Janis St. Martin Industry Champion Award: Rick Perr, co-managing partner of the Philadelphia office of the law firm Kaufman Dolowich Voluck LLP.

Jonathan Elliot Judicial Advocacy Award: John Bedard, owner of Bedard Law Group PC in Duluth, Georgia.

Linda Russell Leadership Achievement Award: Leslie Bender.

Unit Leader of the Year Award: Michael Klutho, attorney at Bassford Remele in Minneapolis.

If you have executive leadership updates or other member news to share with ACA, contact our communications department at [email protected]. View our publications page for more information and our news submission guidelines here.