Commercial Law League 125th National Convention a Success


Rolling Meadows, IL – May 16, 2019 – The Commercial Law League of America (CLLA) held its 125th National Convention on May 2-5, 2019 at the Rosen Shingle Creek Resort in Orlando, Florida. Attendees explored the multi-tracked, educational event covering topics in bankruptcy, creditors’ rights, complex litigation, legislation and collections. Attendees were awarded continuing legal education (CLE), and offered opportunities for networking through planned social events, and witnessed the Passing of the Gavel, the President's Cup Award presentation, and the induction ceremonies of leadership roles at the Annual Awards Luncheon.


Timothy Wan, Smith Carroad Levy Wan & Parikh, PC Sworn in as President of CLLA

During the convention, the third-ever female President, Lorna Walker, Sweet & Walker, PC, San Francisco, California, "passed the gavel" to Timothy Wan, Senior Partner at Smith Carroad Levy Wan & Parikh, PC of Commack, New York. 


In a previous statement, Ms. Walker remarked, “As the third madam president, I am honored that I will be the one to swear in Mr. Wan. I have worked closely with him over the past few years and know he will do an excellent job. I am confident that our league will benefit greatly from his leadership and enthusiasm,” stated Ms. Walker. Mr. Wan enthusiastically remarked, “As the first-ever non-white President, and one of the youngest, I am honored to be receiving this heavy mantle. I am ready to roll up my sleeves, and make change happen – more than just because of finally breaking the diversity wall!”


CLLA Congratulates Robert Ingold as the 2019 President's Cup Winner

Robert Ingold was presented with the 2019 President's Cup Award at the 125th National Convention.


Robert Ingold has held several key positions in The Commercial Law League. He has served on the Board of Governors of the CLLA, as a former chair of the Commercial Collection Agency Section of the CLLA, and as a former chair of the Eastern District of CLLA – the first agency member to hold this office in over 100 years. He is a past recipient of the CLLA Robert E. Caine Leadership Award. Mr. Ingold also served as a past President of IACC and was a recipient of the IACC Leadership Award. Currently, Mr. Ingold is a member of the IACC Board of Directors.


President’s Cup winners are selected by a special committee comprised of CLLA board members, a previous President’s Cup recipient and a member of the American Lawyers Quarterly law firm directory.


Since 1964, the award has been presented to a CLLA member who has shown outstanding service to the organization, in addition to leading a respected personal and professional life. 


CLLA is planning the 126th Annual Convention to be held in Chicago, Illinois in 2020. Attendance at the annual convention, and other CLLA events, is open to members and non-members. Visit for more information.


# # #


About the CLLA

Since 1895, the not-for-profit Commercial Law League of America has connected experienced attorneys with credit grantors, lending institutions and other commercial credit, bankruptcy and general finance industry members through networking, education, legislative advocacy and specialized legal services. The association’s members include attorneys, collection agencies, judges, accountants, trustees, turnaround managers and other credit and finance experts. For more information on the CLLA, please visit


For additional information about this event or the Commercial Law League of America, contact Dawn Federico at or by calling 312-240-1400.